This document tries to tie together the labors of a large group of people. Without these individuals' efforts, we wouldn't have a terrific, free set of tools to develop AVR projects. We all owe thanks to:

  • Denis Chertykov and Marek Michalkiewicz [ ] for developing the standard libraries and startup code for AVR-GCC.

  • Uros Platise for developing the AVR programmer tool, uisp.

  • Brian Dean [ ] for developing avrdude (an alternative to uisp) and for contributing documentation which describes how to use it. Avrdude was previously called avrprog.

  • Eric Weddington [ ] for maintaining the WinAVR package and thus making the continued improvements to the open source AVR toolchain available to many users.

  • Rich Neswold for writing the original avr-tools document (which he graciously allowed to be merged into this document) and his improvements to the demo project.

  • Theodore A. Roth for having been a long-time maintainer of many of the tools (AVR-Libc, the AVR port of GDB, AVaRICE, uisp, avrdude).

  • All the people who currently maintain the tools, and/or have submitted suggestions, patches and bug reports. (See the AUTHORS files of the various tools.)

  • And lastly, all the users who use the software. If nobody used the software, we would probably not be very motivated to continue to develop it. Keep those bug reports coming. ;-)