• AVR Freaks

FatFS vs MDD; RAM footprint & Multiple Drives

Author
andyhewitson
  • Total Posts : 13
  • Reward points : 0
2009/04/17 12:56:24 (permalink)

FatFS vs MDD; RAM footprint & Multiple Drives

I'm making technology choices for a new product that requires a file system library.  I have some experience with FatFS, but none with Microchip’s file system library.  Although my first preference is to use FatFS, the Microchip library might do a better job of conserving that precious SRAM resource.  Another factor leaning away from Microchip's library is that it appears to not support multiple simultaneous drives (in the same elegant way as FatFS "0:\file.txt", "1:\...", etc).  The latter is a deal breaker, and should be for many embedded projects that use dedicated onboard flash as well as removable storage (eg: thumb drive).

Questions:
1) Does the Microchip file system library (MDD) support multiple physical drives (simultaneously)?
2) How does the RAM footprint of FatFS compare to Microchip's library?
Thanks in advance.

6 Replies Related Threads

Kiwi Mike AZ
    • Total Posts : 2056
    RE: FatFS vs MDD; RAM footprint & Multiple Drives 2009/04/17 13:39:37 (permalink)
    Answers:

1) The Microchip Filse system DOES NOT support multiple devices.

2) Stack size and memory useage depends on what features etc you need.
        Easiest way is to download the stacks and build a demo that is close to your requirements.

FATFS for PIC32
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1824&appnote=en539236

FAT32 (Microchips File system)
    http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en537999
    jmag99
    • Total Posts : 486
    RE: FatFS vs MDD; RAM footprint & Multiple Drives 2009/04/17 14:54:18 (permalink)