• AVR Freaks

writing a single bit to PORTB

Page: < 123 Showing page 3 of 3
Author
john
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 40
  • Reward points : 0
Not thin ice, spot on. 2008/02/06 12:07:46 (permalink)
I've been a Third Party uCHIP Developer since the 16c5x days and your experiences are by no means unique. I've had some pretty hot exchanges with some pretty senior people there concerning these same issues and more.  Your point regarding marketeers vs. engineers is perceptive.  The marketing guys asert that nothing is perfect, other mfrs have problems too, and that uCHIP does a better job of getting the info out and if we really emphasized some of the issues our competition would use it to beat us up etc etc.  True enough and perfectly reasonable concerns from a marketing perspective. As engineers and programmers, we'd of course like full disclosure of everything up front so that we could make informed choices in the design stage to keep from making expensive mistakes.  Since one of those choices might be not to use the part in the first place.. well.. that's where the two departments will clash and we get caught in the middle.  As to who bears the sometimes staggering costs that result.. you already know the answer to that one. 

In your particular case, the data books all describe how the I/O works during r-m-w with the admonition to use NOPs at higher clock speeds etc etc and advice is bantered around about what's good design practice yada yada.  If the data book said something like

"During any bsf, bcf to an output pin, ALL other pins on the port will be rewritten with the value that appears on that pin during the Q1 phase of the instruction.  This means that at 20mhz, for example, a 50 nanosecond transient concurrent with Q1 can corrupt any or all outputs on that port, and that includes internal peripherials that may use the port.."  (which in fact what is really going on)..