• AVR Freaks

Helpful ReplyHot!PIC microcontrollers starter: I want to learn how to program a PIC micro

Author
Marcus314
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points : 0
2017/06/05 19:07:18 (permalink)

PIC microcontrollers starter: I want to learn how to program a PIC micro

Good evening (or whatever time you are watching this). Before getting to the point I want to introduce myself to explain everything:
My name is Marco (but you can call me Marcus if you want). I'm a mechatronics engineering student from Mexico. I am in 6th semester and I'm very interested in electronics (since I was a kid). The point is the following: I was taking a course on microcontrollers at my university. This course was not a PIC microcontrollers but rather a LPCXpresso one and we were working with the LPC1769 development board. The problem is that first of all my teacher barely taught us anything about this board and how to program it (he even didn't attend class most of the time) yet he expected us to build very complex circuits (e.g. digital clocks, thermometers, LCD display, etc) and it was difficult for me to find any information about the LPC1769 and how to program it. Even if I dominate digital and analogue electronics (since I had to take them to be able to take the microcontrollers course); still I had problems since the material our teacher gave us from his Google Drive cloud folder was not easy to comprenhend. The projects he asked us to build using his code and electronic schematics were full of errors and most of the time my circuit didn't work. As a result I ended failing the course. I asked help on a teacher of mine who taught me the course on sensors and actuators and told me that starting microcontrollers with a LPC1769 board was like (in his own words) "trying to know how to fly a plane when you don't know how to drive" (he basically said that it was like trying to dominate something very hard without knowing easier stuff or the basics) so he recommended me for starting with mi