Getting started with the MPLAB X, the Gooligum tutorial and a PIC12F1840

Author
rikpardun
  • Total Posts : 19
  • Reward points : 0
2012/08/23 08:46:37 (permalink)

Getting started with the MPLAB X, the Gooligum tutorial and a PIC12F1840

Good afternoon all,
I am an engineer but mostly work more on the hardware side and rarely bring up stuff from scratch (We have guys for that but I want to learn so here we go).

I have a very simple PIC design which does nothing but sit there and look pretty.  A pickit3 and a brand new installation of MPLAB X and MPLAB XC8 V1.1.
Following the instructions in the PIC C Lesson 1 Basic Digital IO, I followed the example for the MPLAB X design and set up a new program for the PIC12F629.  Copied his source example and hit the clean and build button.  It does compile but has two items that it complains about.
1.  Unexpected token on the __Config line and
2.  Occasionally an issue with the TRISIO but I cant get the error right now so maybe that is nothing.
Is this normal?  Does it mean anything?

Now on to the more important part of this.  I want to get his to work for my 12F1840 chip and it says that to see which symbols I should use in the config i should consult the appropriate include file (pic12F629.H or pic12F1840.h).  The problem is, I don't see any of these tokens or symbols any where in the .h file.  I am using the XC8 library which would be located at C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v1.10\include\ 
Can someone explain to me exactly what and where I am looking so that I can go to the 1840 and try to modify it to work with that?

It is better if I learn how to find this stuff myself but as a kickstart, if anyone has code that compiles for the 12F1840 using MPLAB X and XC8, that would be a great learning tool.  Right now I am fighting with the fact that I have a new IDE, a new library, a new chip, and a new programmer (me) and any one or all of them could be the cause for error here.  I know were I am putting my money though :)