LCD Interaction with PIC16f676

Starting Member
2011/08/09 13:34:01
Hey everyone, 

I'm programming a PIC16f676 to work with a CFAH0802D-YYH-JP LCD. I've already checked the code on the BT_Out pin without any of the LCD code and have verified that the frequency counter in the code does indeed work. The issue is when connected to the LCD screen, the initialization of the LCD fails (a row of black squares is displayed).  I'm new to working with microprocessor to LCD in assembly so any help or suggestions is appreciated

griswold
Re:LCD Interaction with PIC16f676 2011/08/09 15:01:46
By "frequency counter" do you mean that you've vetted all of your timing routines with a scope? your 5mS is really 5mS, in other words.

I can't help with LCD specifics for that model, but the one I've been using is pretty sensitive to timing.

Hope this helps,
John

dan1138
Re:LCD Interaction with PIC16f676 2011/08/09 19:03:11
baseball07

I'm programming a PIC16f676 to work with a CFAH0802D-YYH-JP LCD.

I've already checked the code on the BT_Out pin without any of the LCD code and have verified that the frequency counter in the code does indeed work.

The issue is when connected to the LCD screen, the initialization of the LCD fails (a row of black squares is displayed).  

I'm new to working with microprocessor to LCD in assembly so any help or suggestions is appreciated

I have looked at your code and find that what your have said in your second sentence is false.
Your claim is that you checked the BT_Out pin that your code has assigned to RA3.
On the PIC16F676 RA3 is an input only pin. Where BT_Out may be it is not on RA3.

The code you have for LCD output look just wrong to me. It's too hard to spot any but the obvious issues.
Your LCD initialization routine uses a CLRF PORTA statement.
This is a bug because not all of the output bits of PORTA are used exclusively by the LCD.