• AVR Freaks

Helpful ReplyComplete NOOB Requires some Explaination - PIC 16F877A

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
Johnnycrash
  • Total Posts : 18
  • Reward points : 0
Re:Complete NOOB Requires some Explaination - PIC 16F877A 2010/12/23 08:54:40 (permalink)
That makes sense using the ADCON0 reg, but how would i apply that to the PORTA bits. since they dont have lables like go_done or ad_on etc.
1and0
Access is Denied
  • Total Posts : 12099
Re:Complete NOOB Requires some Explaination - PIC 16F877A 2010/12/23 09:01:29 (permalink)
Johnnycrash
If i do this,
movlw b'111111'
movwf PORTA

it will set a hex number of 16 in the register

How do I set it so RA1 goes high?

Some PORTA pins are multiplexed with analog function.  You have to configure these pins to digital with the ADCON1 register.

1and0
Access is Denied
Re:Complete NOOB Requires some Explaination - PIC 16F877A 2010/12/23 09:31:50 (permalink)
Johnnycrash
That makes sense using the ADCON0 reg, but how would i apply that to the PORTA bits. since they dont have lables like go_done or ad_on etc.

You can create labels/symbols with the #define directive, such as

#define LED1  PORTA,1

Wherever LED1 is used in the assembly code, PORTA,1 will be substituted.
Johnnycrash
Re:Complete NOOB Requires some Explaination - PIC 16F877A 2010/12/23 09:36:49 (permalink)
I thought that was what I did here?

;*****Set Up The Port*******
 clrf  PORTA
BANKSEL  TRISA

movlw  0x0F
 movwf ADCON1

BANKSEL  PORTA 

movlw 00h
 movwf COUNT1  ;Clears data from count1 on startup
 movwf COUNT2  ;Clears data from count2 on startup

Then the next part of the program will try and switch RA1 "1"

START

movlw 03h
 movwf PORTA  ;copies working reg to PORTA

But this does not enter a value into PORTA register for some reason. is there something I am missing?
As far as I can tell I am Initializing PORTA, Setting ADCON1 turns off the AD converters, and setting TRISA sets PORTA as OUTPUT only.

1and0
Access is Denied