Buffer toggle synchronization issue

Author
latchup
  • Total Posts : 15
  • Reward points : 0
2010/05/30 09:04:33 (permalink)

Buffer toggle synchronization issue

Hello together,

here is an issue I found testing the USB Stack v2.7 on a PIC18F2550 device.
I have some experience with the PIC18 microcontrollers, but I have not used the C compiler nor the USB Stack so far, so maybe
the problems just arise from my limited understanding of the library. I would appreciate if someone more experienced with the
USB Stack verified the issue before I feed it into the bug-tracking system.

----------------------

Issue in buffer toggle synchronization after a CLEAR_FEATURE(ENDPOINT_HALT) request:

According to the USB specification, a CLEAR_FEATURE(ENDPOINT_HALT) request has to syncronize the buffer toggling sequence to
DATA0.

The following behaviour can be reconstructed by using any of the USB Device - HID example programs installed by the Microchip
Application Libraries (with the default full ping pong configuration):

* Startup the device. A reception buffer gets installed on the EP1_OUT_EVEN descriptor (0x410)
* Let the host send a CLEAR_FEATURE(ENDPOINT_HALT) request to endpoint 1.
* The request gets serviced by USBStdFeatureReqHandler() (usb_device.c, line 1650).
      Line 1759-1762 effectively set
           BD[EP1_OUT_EVEN] = _USIE|_DAT1|_DTSEN;
           BD[EP1_OUT_ODD]  = _USIE|_DAT0|_DTSEN;
* The next data out transaction from the host will have a DATA0 token, and will therefore fail.

The discribed problem always appears, when the pBDTEntryOut[SetupPkt.EPNum] points to an ODD buffer descriptor position at
the time the request is received.
[edit] Correction: It will always fail. [/edit]

The problem should also concern the IN endpoints, but I have not tested this.

The probem may be possibly related to the issue mentioned in the following thread:
http://www.microchip.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=502884