• AVR Freaks

Where to start? :/

Author
jeremywilms
  • Total Posts : 4
  • Reward points : 0
2010/01/31 22:00:40 (permalink)

Where to start? :/

I haven't gotten too deep into electronics but I have a lot of experience programming in C, and C++, with a bit of Intel x86 assembly. I'm aware I can purchase what is known as an 'augmented micro-controller', however, I am more interested in purchasing a micro-controller such as the PIC, and building onto it as I become more experienced.

I'm looking for tools I'd need to start. I.e which programmer(I've come across a million). And what's a device adapter for?

So far I know I'm going to purchase a PIC(Do any of you have any recommendations for a beginner), a PIC Programmer(Which one?), a breadboard + some basic electronics parts(Can any of you direct me to a commonly used list of parts? I.e commonly used resistors and capacitors).

Thank you.

12 Replies Related Threads

400_up
    • Total Posts : 776
    RE: Where to start? :/ 2010/02/01 08:32:06 (permalink)
    Which PIC you should start with depends on what you are planning to do. Have you got a design in mind, or are you just looking to learn PIC's?

If you have a design in mind, tell us about it and we can help you choose a PIC.

If you are just wanting to learn the PIC's, I suggest you use a device from the PIC18F family. If you think you might want to do some USB stuff go with an PIC18F4550, if you want a lot of I/O pins and a lot of memory go with the PIC18F6723 (or one from that sub family). You might also consider the packages available for each device, the 18F4550 comes in several packages, the 18F6723 is available in only one package. If you are going to be hand building your boards this will be very important. Or if you want a DSP go with the dsPIC device. The PIC16's and PIC18's are 8 bit devices the PIC24's are 16 bit devices and the PIC32's are 32 bit devices. Microchip has C compilers available for all but the PIC16's.