Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
Author
KatyBri
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
2008/10/04 19:11:44 (permalink)

Just getting started with Microchip-need advice

Hello,

Im just getting started with Microchip. After looking over their web site, I quickly became overwhelmed! I would appreciate any suggestions on how I should get started to learn, and the minimum items I need to download or purchase.

Thank you

41 Replies Related Threads

leon_heller
    • Total Posts : 6411
    RE: Just getting started with Microchip-need advice 2008/10/04 20:45:26 (permalink)
    Get a PICkit 2 with the mid-range demo board - about $35 - and work though some of the examples.

These tutorials are excellent:

http://www.gooligum.com.au/tutorials.html

Leon

Leon Heller
    G1HSM

dchisholm
    • Total Posts : 3805
    RE: Just getting started with Microchip-need advice 2008/10/04 20:56:02 (permalink)
    +2 (2)
    1. Put some information in your profile so we have some idea of who we are replying to, where you are located (helps us guess what your first language is and when you are most likely to see a post), and what experience you have already had with general electronics, digital logic and its terminology, formal languages and programming, etc.

2. This Forum can be a source of tremendous help.  Get acquainted with its organization, operating protocol and Guidelines.  No, you have NOT done anything wrong (though the "Getting started with PIC's . . . " subforum may have been a better choice for your post).  Initiative is a highly respected trait around here - give some indication that you have tried to find an answer to your question, and people will rush to your assistance.  (It also helps you avoid asking stupid questions.)