• AVR Freaks

Low Power Voltage Divider

Author
invertedflight
  • Total Posts : 139
  • Reward points : 0
2006/04/02 21:30:10 (permalink)

Low Power Voltage Divider

I'm working on a power-sensitive project that does some very simple battery voltage monitoring.  It's a PIC18F6527 and it'll probably sample the battery voltage every few seconds.  Right now I just have a 30K + 10K&.1uF voltage divider on my 12V battery.  This eats up 3.6mW of power all the time and already has some error due to the high resistor values. 

I saw a previous post mentioning use of MCP6041 to buffer the signal.  I've never used op-amps before so I want to make sure I have this clear.  The op-amp has an input bias of 1pA so I can easily get away with 100K+300K resistors, right?  And then I just build a simple voltage follower?  How high can I make my resistances, practically?  1M and 3M? The circuit will sit outside in a waterproof case, but could still get slight moisture exposure.

Thanks,
Chris

18 Replies Related Threads

chrislev
    • Total Posts : 318
    RE: Low Power Voltage Divider 2006/04/03 09:28:42 (permalink)
    Hi,

Why not consider using an N-Channel MOSFET to switch your divider on and off at the ground side? Then you can use lower valued resistors to improve noise rejection. You can also make a divider who's output matches the pics A/D input impedance (further improving accuracy).

When you are not measuring battery voltage, switch off  the divider and your current consumption goes to zero.

You can calculate out the voltage drop across the MOSFET OR I *think* you could simply connect Vref- to the high side of the MOSFET (assuming you are switching the ground on/off) and ignore the voltage drop. I have not thought the VRef- idea out completely so I'm not sure if there would be any issue doing this. It seems right at first thought though.

Hope this helps.

Chris

invertedflight
    RE: Low Power Voltage Divider 2006/04/05 00:48:31 (permalink)