• AVR Freaks

Helpful ReplyHot!dsPIC33EV256GM002 Frequency Issues (PWM/TIMER)

Author
blbdf
Electronic Engineer
  • Total Posts : 8
  • Reward points : 0
2020/12/02 06:57:10 (permalink)

dsPIC33EV256GM002 Frequency Issues (PWM/TIMER)

Hello everyone,

First of all I'm a beginner (well, I used to work with 16F a while back...).
So I'll try to be as clear as possible.
Setup MPLABX v5.30, xc16 v1.50, code configurator 4.0.2 (working on macOS) and a ICD4.
I'm using a custom board with a 32 MHz external oscillator. And the clock is configured to 32 MHz in MCC.

I started a new project and at first I had issues to get the program running without using the debug mode.
I was using the default ICD4 configuration, Auto select memories and ranges : Allow ICD 4 to Select Memories.
So I changed that to Manually select memories and ranges and I uncheked the Configuration Memory (always programmed in debug mode). And eventually the programme could run on its own.

But the thing is for know I'm just at the beginning and I've just implemented the PWM Module.
The issue I'm facing is when I run the program on the Debug Mode I have the correct frequency (as configured in MCC).
But when I'm in production mode (not in debug) The PWM frequency changes.

Example : Clock Divider 64, Master Period 0xFFFF, Master Duty Cycle 0x8000 so 131.07 ms period 50% duty cycle.
In debug mode that's what I have, but in production mode I have a 1,14 s period.

So I read the dsPIC33EV and the PWM datasheet but I wasn't able to figure it out where i'm screwing this up...

Additional test I made, was to make a LED blink using the timer (3 to be accurate) and same result I have this strange 8.7 ratio between the debug mode and the production mode.

So if anyone has a clue of what I'm doing wrong, your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time.

EDIT 03/10/2020 : Program added + external clock

Brice
post edited by blbdf - 2020/12/03 01:10:35
du00000001
Just Some Member