• AVR Freaks

Hot!Why does USBHostInit() functions returns false?

Author
aurelienalbert
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
2020/11/21 04:47:37 (permalink)

Why does USBHostInit() functions returns false?

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to make working the usb host hid mouse of the mla on a PIC24FJ64GB002 on a breadboard. So I've adapted the code of the example because I don't have all the required HW (LCD for example) and I adapted it to output some states on LEDs.

If I'm posting here, it means I have not made it working yet.

Actually, I'm stucked at the very beggining of the program. The USBHostInit() function actually returns false, which means that memory could not be allocated to the endpoint0 of the host, according to the code and the mla usb documentation.

Has someone been through this problem before?

As I'm new to PIC programming, I'm not aware of every subtility that exist in this field. However I understood that Oscillator configuration seems to be a pretty big deal for USB management.

As I don't own crystal oscillator, I've decided to cofnigure internal oscillator, as described on PIC24FJGB004 family reference manual.

The configuration bits are below. I think it's a good configuration. I get 32MHz oscillator from FRC oscillator aided with PLL, which means FCY is 16MHz.

// CONFIG4
#pragma config DSWDTPS = DSWDTPS3       // DSWDT Postscale Select (1:128 (132 ms))
#pragma config DSWDTOSC = LPRC          // Deep Sleep Watchdog Timer Oscillator Select (DSWDT uses Low Power RC Oscillator (LPRC))
#pragma config RTCOSC = LPRC            // RTCC Reference Oscillator  Select (RTCC uses Low Power RC Oscillator (LPRC))
#pragma config DSBOREN = OFF            // Deep Sleep BOR Enable bit (BOR disabled in Deep Sleep)
#pragma config DSWDTEN = OFF            // Deep Sleep Watchdog Timer (DSWDT disabled)

// CONFIG3
#pragma config WPFP = WPFP0             // Write Protection Flash Page Segment Boundary (Page 0 (0x0))