Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
jgreenmt
  • Total Posts : 12
  • Reward points : 0
2020/10/19 15:41:22 (permalink)

Help using MCC generated I2C functions

Hello all,

I have been programming with 8-bit PICs for a little over three years now. I only recently started using the MCC to set up peripherals and I have run into an issue using the I2C functions generated. I will try to provide a good summary of what I am trying to do and the problems I have run into. This is my first post on the forum so I'm sure I will forget to leave out certain information that will be helpful for troubleshooting so please bear with me.

I am using a PIC16f1705 to communicate to an AM2315 Humidity/Temp sensor from Adafruit. I wrote an application a couple of years ago that uses a self-made driver for the I2C peripheral that works well. The problem is that the driver employs the "polling" method and thus blocks further execution if the sensor doesn't respond or is disconnected. Also over time I have realized that my driver is pretty outdated and amateur. I would like to be able to use the MCC generated functions. While I understand there are pros and cons for using MCC, the purpose of this post is to use MCC to communicate to the sensor.

According to the datasheet and an example program written for an Arduino, I was able to determine the commands to successfully retrieve the Humidity and Temp values from the sensor. This is a rough step-by-step:

//Wake up the sensor
Open transmission
wait 2ms
Close transmission

//Ask for sensor values
Open transmission
i2c write 0x03 //read register
i2c write 0x00 //starting address to read from
i2c write 0x04 //request 4 registers (8 bytes)
Close transmission

wait 10ms

//Receive sensor values
Open transmission
i2c read 8 bytes starting at register 0x00
Close transmission