Page: 12345.. > >> Showing page 1 of 7
Author
spkdd
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 79
  • Reward points : 0
2020/09/12 13:28:29 (permalink)

Newbie need help with assembly programming on 16f688

I'm a newbie on the PIC platform and only have some vague ideas of how it works.
But I've done assembly programming on many legacy 8bit cpus, such as the Z80, 6502, x86 and even did a bit of 68000.
I won't do any C coding and won't bother going through that learning curve, so assembly it must be.
Here's a quick rundown of what I have to work with:
Mac/mplabx/pickit3
I had upgraded an old install of mplabx from long ago, to v5.4 and after a lot of poking around, found out mpasmx was just removed from that latest v5.4 version, which is a VERY bad move. And I downgraded to v5.3 to regain the use of mpasmx.
I'm only getting started and I just did the config bits part.
My source file (I called it main.s) already has the LIST P=PIC16F688 and the include line for p16f688.inc
Plus I placed the org 0 after the config bits line.
Now I'm confused after reading the datasheet which states the reset vector to be at address 0 and the interrupt vector is at address 4, and I see so many examples of source code that starts at the address 0 and totally ignore an address 4 that should be for the interrupt vector.
So what Am I missing here?
Now I realized the config bits don't configure anything about the ports and how the I/Os are to be set up, so that needs to be programmed in, and reading the datasheet, it seems, as I understand it so far, that there are some ram addresses that are "special" and control the port direction and configs. So I'm assuming that writing something there will directly affect those port configurations, setting up each I/O direction and what kind of I/O feature is used there.
But I'm confused by how this works and how we are supposed to write there, with that bank switching and all...
Can I get some pointers please?

123 Replies Related Threads

upand_at_them