Hot!ICD 4 debugging, debugger cannot step through parts of program

Author
Jungle Jim
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 49
  • Reward points : 0
2020/06/27 05:07:23 (permalink)

ICD 4 debugging, debugger cannot step through parts of program

I suspect I have done something stupid or turned a setting off somewhere that has totally altered the ICD4 operation.

I have been using the ICD4 for 2-3 months with no problems debugging two different board designs using 16F884. I had some strange issues programming an old 16F690 with a header. When I went back to a 16F884 board the debugger operation had changed. Somewhere during various operations I used the MPLAB X (V5.25) command 'reset windows' and it seemed to me that it was around then that the ICD4 operation changed. After a lot of testing I assumed I had damaged the ICD4. I put in a support ticket but I have a deadline so I have bought another ICD4 as well.

The new unit works in exactly the same way as the original so either I have a problem with my hardware design, my interface cable, or a setting somewhere. The hardware has been fine for months so I doubt that. The cable continuity is fine, and ICD4 with this cable programs boards for production without issue.

When debugging, I build and download a program. I have set the debugger start-up to both 'run' and 'halt at reset vector', both immediately run. If I set a breakpoint very early on in the program it does not stop.When I pause and view the code, it has gone past the breakpoint (and it has run code and set parameters around the breakpoint so I know it went through it) and will be sat correctly running code somewhere else.

Reset does not appear to reset to the reset vector either. If I press reset and single step, the PC is still in the same place in code as before pressing reset.