• AVR Freaks

Helpful ReplyHot!Should I Use Harmony for New Projects?

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
yp66
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 28
  • Reward points : 0
Re: Should I Use Harmony for New Projects? 2020/05/11 13:04:08 (permalink)
5 (2)
@cen199, I am somewhat in the same situation as you, in that I have a lot of experience with microcontrollers/CPUs except in my case, I have only been working with PICs for the last few years and have always depended on an automated tool for configuring all the settings and registers.

So here is my take; from where I stand, unless I can use an automated tool to configure a PIC, I will simply not use one.  It's not that I can't go through the sheets and figure out all the bits and settings and magic sequences, it's just that I am not willing to put in the time it takes to figure all this out because I can do the same with another CPU without wasting that amount of time (and lose a few cents or dollars in the final price of the product - since they are mostly custom low quantity products, a few bucks here and there don't matter).

So far, I have had no issues using MCC for the 8/16 bit PICs but I recently got tempted to use a high speed 32 bit chip as a really really fast but plain (no file system, ethernet) microcontroller and was more or less forced to use Harmony 3 because MCC does not support the part (PIC32MX174256D and also MZs).  In the process, I decided to also use FreeRTOS. My experience to this point has been mixed for Harmony, and extremely good for FreeRTOS, and below are some of my observations:

- Installing Harmony 3 was a pain - a lot of downloads, a lot of confusing windows and GUI issues (you hit a button and you think you are done waiting but in reality, you have to hit yet another button etc.)  Eventually, everything loaded up and it works but I dread having to install a different version of it in the future.  I had colleagues install it and they run into similar issues, so it's not just me!