• AVR Freaks

AnsweredHot!Suggestion for a Can Bus newbie

Author
seyyah
  • Total Posts : 633
  • Reward points : 0
2020/04/06 03:46:10 (permalink)

Suggestion for a Can Bus newbie

I've never used can bus before and I don't know the concepts deeply. I'm learning nowadays.
I plan to realize something like this:
I have a main control board and distributed peripherals upto 30 nodes. They will all be on the can bus network. All the peripherals will transmit at most 2-bytes of data and most of them will transmit only 1-byte. These peripherals will also receive from only the main board again mostly 1-byte of data.  If I would use RS-485, I would scan the whole network sequentially. But since Can-Bus have different options like all nodes can act on their own, which choice is most logical according to you, especially if you would think some nodes may be added or substracted from the network in different situations:
- Using a master slave logic to scan all the nodes
- Each node transmits on their own periodically
- or anything else
Since I have no experience, I may be confused, any help will be appriceated, thanks

pcbbc
  • Total Posts : 1687
Re: Suggestion for a Can Bus newbie 2020/04/06 04:45:22 (permalink)
+1 (1)
seyyah- Using a master slave logic to scan all the nodes
- Each node transmits on their own periodically
- or anything else

CAN says nothing about which you should use.  It all depends on your application.
BMD
  • Total Posts : 445
Re: Suggestion for a Can Bus newbie 2020/04/06 07:08:43 (permalink) ☼ Best Answerby seyyah 2020/04/08 10:41:17
As pcbbc suggests, this all depends on your application.
But I think this is the help that you are asking for, so;

You should think about how the system will finally operate, what are you measuring,
what is the reason for the messages being sent/received. Urgency? Alarm?

If things need an immediate response, (alarm) this suggests that polling is not a good way, a peripheral needs to
attract attention immediately.