Hot!PIC18F25K42: Help with CVD and ADCC for capacitive measurements

Author
DanTS
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
2020/02/14 03:30:41 (permalink)

PIC18F25K42: Help with CVD and ADCC for capacitive measurements

Hello,
I am a beginner with PIC and have very little experience with coding in general. I am currently using PIC18F25K42 with MPLAB X IDE, XC8 Compiler and ICD3 Programmer. I want to use the CVD to first measure capacitance values of regular through-hole capacitors first, then use the CVD to detect capacitive touch. I developed a code for the former (capacitance meter) using the help of the Code Configurator, however it is not measuring the capacitance correctly/getting correct ADC result when using the debugger and setting watches and I cannot find the reasons why. I am using the following datasheets for help:
  • Capacitive Touch Using Only an ADC (“CVD”) [AN1298]
  • Capacitive Voltage Divider (CVD) Operation on 8-Bit PIC® Microcontrollers [TB3198]
  • Datasheet for PIC
Here are a few things which I think could be wrong:
I believe that Chold (internal capacitor) being a low value of 28pF means that I cannot use a large range of capacitances to measure, as the CVD final voltage and therefore ADC result would be quite low (Currently using a capacitor of 100nF). Should I use a smaller capacitor to measure?
Is my way of calling the ADC and getting conversion correct? I am also unsure if I connected and configured the CVD correctly according to the 7 steps in AN1298, and may have possibly called functions already generated by the MCC.
Finally, I believe maybe the fact that ADCC result is in uint16_t format while I require a double/float value in calculations could be causing an issue. (I have attached an image of which calculation I am using)