• AVR Freaks

Hot!PIC18F26K83: Question on PWM modules

Author
SpokaneNexus
  • Total Posts : 432
  • Reward points : 0
2020/01/24 17:01:49 (permalink)

PIC18F26K83: Question on PWM modules

The PIC18F26K83 family lists four CCP modules and four PWM modules, which suggests you could have a total of eight PWM outputs from a single device. That would be very useful in an upcoming project. I'm very familiar with Microchip's CCP modules and have used them successfully in PWM mode many times, but the dedicated PWM module is new to me so I'm studying it before we commit to a PCB based on it.

Section 24 of the data sheet documents the PWM module. The introduction, in 24.0 on page 341, says "Each PWM module can select the timer source that controls the module."

Yet in section 24.1.1 it says "The period is common to all PWM modules".

Meanwhile, register CCPTMRS1 (Register 24-2 on page 346) specifically shows the ability to select different timers for different PWM modules.

If you can connect to a different Timer, you should be able to get a different period.

Which is correct? Given the existence of CCPTMRS1, I'd argue that you can indeed have different periods with different PWM modules. But then what is the meaning of 24.1.1 and its "The period is common to all PWM modules"?

Thanks!

14 Replies Related Threads

ric
    • Total Posts : 25592
    Re: PIC18F26K83: Question on PWM modules 2020/01/24 18:02:55 (permalink)
    My money is on that being a copy and paste error.
    I agree, the period is controlled by TxPR, so does NOT have to be the same.

I also post at: PicForum
    Links to useful PIC information: http://picforum.ric323.co...opic.php?f=59&t=15
    NEW USERS: Posting images, links and code - workaround for restrictions.
    To get a useful answer, always state which PIC you are using!
    SpokaneNexus
    Re: PIC18F26K83: Question on PWM modules 2020/01/26 15:34:24 (permalink)