• AVR Freaks

Hot!Interfacing Pic with external SRAM and declaring external SRAM as an array

Author
pastelrazzi
  • Total Posts : 8
  • Reward points : 0
2019/10/21 22:54:21 (permalink)

Interfacing Pic with external SRAM and declaring external SRAM as an array

I'm using a pic12f887 and trying to increase serial SRAM with an external chip (a 23LC1024), trying to declare the entirety of the external SRAM as an array, but struggling to find info online on how to write code that accesses specific points in the external SRAM memory. I could be missing something obvious or searching for incorrect terms as I'm new to programming.

This is my prosaic, clunky but working code without the external SRAM. The array is being used as a circular buffer. As is probably obvious, I'm using C.

#define buffersize 96                                     // this is the maximum number of frames the internal SRAM can handle 

void main(void) {
// variables //
    unsigned char buffer[buffersize];                // array / circular buffer holding 8 bit frames
    unsigned int write = 0;                              // frame in array I'm writing data to
    unsigned int read = 1;                              // frame in array I'm reading data from (maximum distance from write)
    unsigned int input;                                   // 10 bit reading from the ADC
    unsigned char output = 0;                        // 8 bit char that will be written to PORTB

while(1)    {
// read input //
     ADCON0bits.CHS=0x00;                         // ADC is connected to pin A0
     input = Read_ADC_Value();                    // "Read_ADC_Value" is a function, not included here, it returns 10 bit ADC value

input = input / 4;                                   // convert 10 bit variable to 8 bit   

// push and pop //
     buffer[write] = input;                            // push "input" variable to frame in array