• AVR Freaks

Hot!pic16f877a micro controller circuit problem

Author
slhulk
  • Total Posts : 7
  • Reward points : 0
2019/10/11 09:31:11 (permalink)

pic16f877a micro controller circuit problem

I'm new to the world of pic and today I wanted to implement an ADC in my pic16f877a. But I was unable to figure out the pin connections exactly so I tried to implement a simple LED flash program instead. I programmed it using assembly and everything was fine. The program was built successfully and my proteus simulation ran smoothly. I uploaded the code into my pic16f877a using pickit3. 

I connected everything as they are shown in the below diagram. Proteus do not show the 2 Vdd pins and the 2 Vss pins. But I connected them im my breadboard implementation. Note that I have used a 9v battery as my power source and I have used a resistor voltage divider to get 5v.

I used the external RC oscillator (I did not change the config as the default is the RC oscillator). First I did not connect a capacitor to the RC circuit because according to an article I read somewhere, this capacitance is not necessary. But later I tried with 1uC and 100nF caps too.

The LEDs did not turn on. I checked all the connections. But couldn't find the bug. 

When I disconnected both the Vss pins from GND the LEDs lit up without flashing. It remained lit up until I connected the Vss to the GND again. 

Note that the pic is not dead. The MCU can be erased, programmed and verified using pickit3.

Any insight into how to solve this would be highly appreciated.

Here is my code:

PROCESSOR 16F877A
INCLUDE <p16F877A.INC>

CNT0 EQU 21h ;COUNTER IN BANK 00
CNT1 EQU 22h ;COUNTER IN BANK 01
CNT2 EQU 23h ;COUNTER 2

ORG 0x00 ;WE MAKE USE OF INTERUPTS

INIT:

BSF STATUS, 5 ;SELECT BANK 01
;PORTB IS SET TO OUTPUT MODE
MOVLW B'00000000'
MOVWF TRISB
BCF STATUS, 5 ;SELECT BANK 00

MAIN:

MOVLW B'11111111'
MOVWF PORTB
CALL DELAY
MOVLW B'00000000'
MOVWF PORTB
CALL DELAY
GOTO MAIN

DELAY:

BCF STATUS, 5