• AVR Freaks

Hot!Speed of SD Card Read with MCC generated SPI and FATFs - How to change?

Author
PRWiley
  • Total Posts : 22
  • Reward points : 0
2019/08/28 08:46:01 (permalink)

Speed of SD Card Read with MCC generated SPI and FATFs - How to change?

I am working on code for my PIC18F46K42 to read a WAV file and play it out via PWM.

I am using the FATFs library that now available via the MCC. I am using MPLAB X v5.25 and the XC complier v2.05. I am reading a PNY SDHC card via an adafruit Micro-SD breakout board. I set up the FATFs library and SPI via the MCC and can read data from the SD card. The WAV file iI am using is one channel, 8bit, sample rate 22050Hz and features me doing a slow count.

The audio plays back through the PWM pin attached to a LM386 preamp (no filtering), but it does so very slowly, about half speed. So, I have an issue with time someplace.

Because I am new to this, there are many possible timing issues. The one I want to eliminate first is the possibility that the data is being read from the SD card too slowly. My understanding that the initialization of the SD card has to happen at a relatively slow speed, under 400kHz, and that after initialization the read speed can be increased. 

Looking at the code and documentation, it is not clear to me whether I have to (or can) increase the speed of reads from the SD card after initialization or whether that happens automatically somehow in the MCC generated code. 

The "Easy Setup" tab for the SPIMASTER (under Libraries > Foundation Services) shows values for SDFAST and SDSLOW, 4000kHz and 400 kHz respectively, so I think the speed-up is supposed to happen automatically. Does anyone know for sure? Is the SDFAST related to the speed of the SD card read? What limits this value?

I have HINTOSC set at 16MHz. If I set it any higher, the SD Card is not read.