Hot!Trying to Understand How MCC includes Device Config Registers

Author
racingsubby
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 54
  • Reward points : 0
2019/08/15 20:41:06 (permalink)

Trying to Understand How MCC includes Device Config Registers

Hi.  I'm a rookie at C code.  Everything I've done usually only includes 1 source file, the main.c.  My understanding is that to access functions in other C files, you include the header file the declares those functions at the top of your main.c file for the pre-processor to see them.  Then you can call those functions.
So I used MCC to setup some basic digital I/O on Port C.  I've then tried to understand how it all pieces together.  I see the function call for the system initialize in main.c  Within the system initialize function, it calls pin_manager initialize and oscillator initialize to setup the pins and oscillator registers.  I get all that.
What I'm struggling with is how do the CONFIG registers, located in the device_confic.c file, get included in the build.  There's no function call or anything.  The device.h file only has the definition of the XTAL_FREQ.  So how do these registers get included into the program?
Let me know if this is clear enough.
Thanks for any feedback!grin: grin

12 Replies Related Threads

ric
    • Total Posts : 23545
    Re: Trying to Understand How MCC includes Device Config Registers 2019/08/15 20:46:08 (permalink)
    CONFIG registers are set with #pragma lines, which are instructions directly to the compiler.
    They are NOT executable statements, so they are never "called".
    Just having those "#pragma config" lines in one of your C files is all you require.
    n.b. They should only appear in one C file, so most definitely do NOT ever put them into a header file that is included into multiple C files.

Ric (aka "subby_is_towcar" ;) )

post edited by ric - 2019/08/15 20:50:04

I also post at: PicForum
    Links to useful PIC information: http://picforum.ric323.co...opic.php?f=59&t=15