Hot!dsPIC33 Audio Communication Demo

Author
sgregory1984
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
2019/08/13 01:36:37 (permalink)

dsPIC33 Audio Communication Demo

Good morning,
Now, I will caveat this post with the fact that I'm a complete novice when it comes to Microchip products and I'm also very green when it comes to electronics generally... however, "theoretically" I'm trying to do something simple. 

The end game for me is I would like to communicate audio between two explorer 16/32 boards with the dsPIC33FJ256GP710A PIM modules installed. The first step is to utilise the demo code available which utilises the Audio pictail daughterboard with the WM8510G codec onboard to compress the audio and communicate via UART with the second board. The first issue I had is the fact that the demo code is designed for use with the explorer 16 board, not the 16/32, which comes with a serial to usb adapter chip which i could not get to work in a host/device mode. I overcame this by connecting the UART tx to the UART rx directly on the second board, which then gave me board synchronisation(LED3 switches to LED4 indicating the boards are receiving dummy frames). However, I cannot seem to get audio to transmit between the two.... and frankly a little lost as to how to debug this.

This may not be enough information to go on, but please bear with me as I'm a complete novice in this space!

7 Replies Related Threads

du00000001
    Just Some Member
    • Total Posts : 3064
    Re: dsPIC33 Audio Communication Demo 2019/08/14 12:45:22 (permalink)
    Debug?
    Start with transmitting defined bytes from board 1 to board 2. Once you got this working, you can continue with reading the WM8510 and transmitting the audio codes to the 2nd board. ...

PEBKAC / EBKAC / POBCAK / PICNIC (eventually see en.wikipedia.org)
    sgregory1984
    Re: dsPIC33 Audio Communication Demo 2019/08/15 01:43:42 (permalink)