• AVR Freaks

Hot!UART Communication Troubles

Author
jack.fining
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
2019/07/10 06:27:51 (permalink)

UART Communication Troubles

Hi, I'm really new to microcontrollers and C in general, so please bear with me here. I'm just trying to set up a simple LED system to test the functionality of UART with the OS I'm working with . It looks relatively simple because it is. All I want to do here is initialize the UART functionality, and then blink the LED. I don't have a main.c here because it is listed somewhere else but all it does is call this function. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Below I'll list out the specs of what I'm working with:

PIC24FJ256GB210
xc16 compiler v1.25
MPLAB X IDE 3.15

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdbool.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include "xc.h"
#include <math.h>

void takePicture(int n) {
    initUART();
    UARTblinkLED(5);
}

void initUART(void) {
    //Set Pin RP16 to be an output.
    RPOR8bits.RP16R = 3;
    //Initialize UART.
    U1MODE = 0;
    U1STA = 0;
    //Set Baud Rate to 9600.
    U1BRG = 25;
    //Turn on UART functionality.
    U1MODEbits.UARTEN = 1;
    //Turn on TX functionality.
    U1STAbits.UTXEN = 1;
}

void UARTblinkLED(int x) {
    //Blink an LED x number of times. i is used as a counter.
    int i;
    for (i = 1; i <= x; i++) {
        //Turn on the LED.
        putUART(1);
        //Wait 2 seconds.
        delay(2000);
        //Turn off the LED.
        putUART(0);
        //Wait 2 seconds.
        delay(2000);
        printf("Blinked ;o \n");
    }
}

void putUART(char c) {
    U1TXREG = c;
}

14 Replies Related Threads

ric
    • Total Posts : 24593
    Re: UART Communication Troubles 2019/07/10 06:47:47 (permalink)
    Comes from https://www.microchip.com/forums/m1104617.aspx
    I see you have followed the request to post in a more relevant forum, but ignored the request for the config bits and ALL the code.
    post edited by ric - 2019/07/10 06:49:19