• AVR Freaks

Hot!Editor parser shows errors following successful build

Author
Sentinel
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
2019/06/17 19:42:08 (permalink)

Editor parser shows errors following successful build

I'm new to MPLAB and creating my first project. The project compiles successfully, but the editor shows a number of errors associated with symbols defined in header files (from the standard library) that it says it can't find. I tried re-parsing but there was no change. There appears to be a disconnect between the editor and compiler parsers. What am I missing?

3 Replies Related Threads

ric
    • Total Posts : 22640
    Re: Editor parser shows errors following successful build 2019/06/18 13:38:21 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    This is a long standing bug that has been in MPLABX since it was released.
    Search this forum for "red squiggles" to see some of the other discussion.

I also post at: PicForum
    Links to useful PIC information: http://picforum.ric323.co...opic.php?f=59&t=15
    NEW USERS: Posting images, links and code - workaround for restrictions.
    To get a useful answer, always state which PIC you are using!
    moser
    • Total Posts : 481
    Re: Editor parser shows errors following successful build 2019/06/19 01:23:50 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    Editor parser and compiler parser are in fact two different things.

If a reparse (project tab > right click on your project name > Code Assistance > Reparse Project) did not help, the next step would be to clear the user cache. Open "Help > About" and check the path at "Cache directory". In Windows it should be something like:
    C:\Users\YOUR_USER_NAME\AppData\Local\mplab_ide\Cache\dev\MPLAB_VERSION_NUMBER\var
    (usually corresponding to %localappdata%\mplab_ide\Cache\dev )
    First close MPLAB X and wait until it is fully closed. Then delete the complete var folder. After that restart MPLAB X and wait until the parser has done its job.