I need some help with PIC programming

Author
kaldis12
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
2019/06/17 07:14:24 (permalink)

I need some help with PIC programming

Hey Guys!
I'm pretty new to these PICs, recently I worked a bit with arduinos, but nothing else.

My idea would be that I need an electronics for kinda a signal passthrough. There is a slide potentiometer which works from 20 to 50ohms. There is 1.080.000 signals going into the PIC at a second(18.000/min). My Idea would be that when the slider hits 30ohms every 3rd signal gets "trapped". So from 3 signal there is just only 2 passing out from the PIC. And when the slider goes under 30 ohms it passes through again every signal. The most Important thing is that there can't be ANY delay to it. 
Is it possible to do it with PICs? Or there are more simple ways to it?(the signal is from an ignition, from the inductive Pick-up)

Sorry for my English, I'm Hungarian 

3 Replies Related Threads

Aussie Susan
    • Total Posts : 3591
    Re: I need some help with PIC programming 2019/06/18 20:45:58 (permalink)
    5 (1)
    I don't understand your numbers but if by "1.080.000 ... a second" you mean that the MCU has to respond to just over 1 million pulses a second (about 1 every uS) then you are going to need a very fast device and I'm not sure if many Microchip MCUs have a clock speed greater than about 160MHz (about 80MIPS).
    On the other hand if the "18.000/min" refers to 18 thousand revolutions a minute with one pulse per revolution (300 pulses per second or one every 3.3mS) then that should be easily done.
    The ADC in the MCUs measure voltage and so what really matters is the voltage that you are applying across the potentiometer and the voltage on the wiper when it at the required place.
    Counting the pulses and then stopping one every three should not be a problem, as long as the above are taken into consideration.