Author
teranz
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 36
  • Reward points : 0
2019/06/11 21:59:03 (permalink)

PIC16F18313 I2C Slave Operation, Cannot Transmit to Master

Hi:
I have been able to use the PIC16F18313 and similar mpu`s in I2C Master mode, but this is my first attempt using it as a slave.  For some reason I cannot get the transmission of data to the master to work... The following is info from the data sheet:

Following the ACK, slave hardware clears the CKP bit and the SCL pin is held low (see Section 30.5.6 “Clock Stretching” for more detail). By stretching the clock, the master will be unable to assert another clock pulse until the slave is done preparing the transmit data. The transmit data must be loaded into the SSP1BUF register which also loads the SSP1SR register. Then the SCL pin should be released by setting the CKP bit of the SSP1CON1 register. The eight data bits are shifted out on the falling edge of the SCL input. This ensures that the SDA signal is valid during the SCL high time.

I receive my slave address with the R/W bit = 1, and at this time the SCL line is held low as expected.  I load the SSP1BUF with my LSB value and set the CKP = 1.  The SCL line goes high but the transmission appears to never happen, there are no SCL clock pulses.  Here is the "rough" code I am using in the ISR just to get things going:

// ********************************************
// Look for our slave address and READ bit set...

while(!i2c1_driver_isBufferFull());     // Wait while address receive in progress

data[2] = SSP1BUF;                        // Read the slave address with the R/W = 1.

// ********************************************
// Send data to Host (Master) 75 degrees F = 0x0129 degrees K
// Send LSB...