• AVR Freaks

Hot!PIC32MZ: How do you encrypt/validate hex file to update firmware?

Author
RodoPIC
  • Total Posts : 173
  • Reward points : 0
2019/03/28 10:06:52 (permalink)

PIC32MZ: How do you encrypt/validate hex file to update firmware?

Hi all,
I'm interested in how you guys encrypt/validate a hex file that will be sent via USB to a product with a PIC32MZ . I'm new to PIC32MZ and the whole firmware update thing (via bootloader). I got the answer about how to transmit the hex file but then someone raised a good point so I thought I ask the question in a separate thread.
Thanks

8 Replies Related Threads

Jim Nickerson
    User 452
    • Total Posts : 5947
    Re: PIC32MZ: How do you encrypt/validate hex file to update firmware? 2019/03/28 10:14:22 (permalink)
    4 (1)
    For validation I make use of the DMA CRC mode.
    NKurzman
    A Guy on the Net
    • Total Posts : 17344
    Re: PIC32MZ: How do you encrypt/validate hex file to update firmware? 2019/03/28 10:19:50 (permalink)
    4 (1)
    Encryption and validation are not the same thing.
    Do you Need Encryption? What strength?
    Validation of what? the Hex file is complete and correct?  Or that the Hex file is program on the PIC correctly?
    jdeguire
    • Total Posts : 456
    Re: PIC32MZ: How do you encrypt/validate hex file to update firmware? 2019/03/28 10:30:28 (permalink)
    4 (1)
    The end of each record is a checksum that is set up such that adding up all bytes in the record (after converting them from ASCII), including the checksum byte, will output a value whose lowest byte is 0. You should verify the checksum of each record as you read it.  Our bootloader takes the records as-is in ASCII and it handles all of that on its own.  If you plan on parsing the file externally and sending down the raw data, you should probably send down your own checksum for each chunk of data to send.
    Jim Nickerson
    User 452
    • Total Posts : 5947