Hot!Why C Over Assembly?

Author
Wanglesnap
  • Total Posts : 16
  • Reward points : 0
2019/03/18 13:19:40 (permalink)

Why C Over Assembly?

Hello All
I am fairly new to mcus and pics but I have finally clicked with assembly and think it great.I have been a C/C++ programmer for many years so I should be able to transfer from Assembly without difficulty.My question is after looking into compilers and their issues what is the advantage? 

17 Replies Related Threads

qhb
    Superb Member
    • Total Posts : 9998
    Re: Why C Over Assembly? 2019/03/18 13:59:03 (permalink)
    +2 (2)
    You don't mention which PIC family or compiler you're using.
    In general, C takes care of all of the housekeeping for you, making loop structures, variable assignment and math operations much more convenient and less error prone.
    Understanding assembler makes it easier to get the most out of your PIC, but 99 percent of your job is easier in C.
    I spent 20 years working just in Assembler. Now I've moved most of my development to C, I've never looked back.
    (and be aware, C is much closer to the "bare metal" than C++.)

Nearly there...
    Mysil
    • Total Posts : 3325
    Re: Why C Over Assembly? 2019/03/18 15:12:11 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    Hi,
    With PIC12..., PIC16... and PIC18... devices, that have wery small address range in each instruction,
    the C compiler take care of memory bank selection, and avoid mistakes that mey be difficult to find.
    Also, together with the linker, C compiler take care of function call arguments and local variables.

Remember, 8-bit PIC devices do not have a memory stack to use for function call arguments and local variables.
    The hardware stack have only one word for each call level, the return address.
    So the compiler juggle and reuse local variables, and a small number of 'access memory' bytes,
    for function arguments and results. 

XC8 C compiler do not follow the traditional distinction between Compiler and Linker.