Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
ASICAlex
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 43
  • Reward points : 0
2019/03/01 15:49:55 (permalink)

CAN Bootloader

I am needing a CAN bootloader for my dsPIC33EP256MU806.  I am fairly new to dsPICs (and PICs in general), but looks like the dsPIC33EP does not have any bootloader in its flash "from the factory".  Instead of trying to figure out how to create some code with minimal CAN function to be able to receive data and program the flash, I have found one on github, and I think I will try it out.  For some reason I cannot post the link, as it gives me permission error when I try to post, but a google search of "bootloader dsPIC33E" it will be first result. (How do I get around this? Can I post html links here?)

Has anyone used this, and what was your experience?  Seems like it is a good option.

26 Replies Related Threads

NKurzman
    A Guy on the Net
    • Total Posts : 17723
    ASICAlex
    Starting Member
    Re: CAN Bootloader 2019/03/01 19:39:18 (permalink)
    Ok.  Thanks.  Yeah I saw the EZBL too, so its a matter of which one would be easier to get running.  I will dig into the EZBL to see how hard it would be to change it to CAN interface instead of USB/UART.  The CAN bootloader on github looks pretty good too, but I am not super familiar with CANOpen, and I can see trying to get the host application taking a little bit.  But I think those two options would be the best to explore.  If someone has had any experience with either using CAN, let me know which worked best for you!
    NKurzman
    A Guy on the Net
    • Total Posts : 17723
    Re: CAN Bootloader 2019/03/01 20:01:52 (permalink)
    What CAN Bus are you targeting? There are a Lot of CAN Protocols.
    You will Need a PC CAN Adapter and the PC program that works with it.
    ASICAlex
    Starting Member
    Re: CAN Bootloader 2019/03/01 21:33:36 (permalink)