Hot!Code Development Review, Critique and Recommendations for a Newbie to C and PIC

Author
meraviglioso
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 41
  • Reward points : 0
2019/02/11 20:36:13 (permalink)

Code Development Review, Critique and Recommendations for a Newbie to C and PIC

Firstly Moderators, if this is not the correct forum please feel free to move it.

This is not a broken code request.  The code does function as is. 

As many of you will recognize from a few of my recent posts, I am quite new to this environment and programming in C. I really struggled for a few weeks to the point where I almost gave up entirely, but I decided to push through. I feel like i have progressed quite a bit (a relative statement) since then, but I recognize that I have a long way to go.

I know the attached code is inefficient in many ways. I probably used the wrong methods and work arounds because my knowledge is limited. My background is in procedural programming using PLC's and primarily ladder logic.

So, I would like to ask some of you experienced programmers to review the project attached and provide some constructive feedback. Things like: "...use a structure here" or "...a for loop could help eliminate all of this repetitive code". Also, things like possibly using a timer interrupt service routine to provide a more consistent/stable sampling of the input data. These are all things I am not comfortable with but I think if I saw some applications with respect to code I have developed it would go very far.
Replies such as "read the manual" are not helpful and I would ask to keep to yourself. I have read the xc8 manual as well as gone through the datasheets for the PIC i am using and its peripherals multiple times. I also have "The Complete Reference, C" as a paper reference but I have found that there is no substitute for some time with an expert to set confusion straight.