• AVR Freaks

Hot!WireShark, UDP, and Hercules weirdness...

Author
gainesy
  • Total Posts : 8
  • Reward points : 0
2018/11/26 17:27:05 (permalink)

WireShark, UDP, and Hercules weirdness...

Hi, 

This is my first time doing this (going to a forum and trying to get a UDP communication setup to work.) I'm getting there but having some weird issues occur.

Goal: Have the Hercules server program that I'm using on my computer talk to my PIC uC. I'm trying to get the PIC to send and recieve messages.

What I have: Have a main.c using the microchip library and wrote a UdpServer function with a state machine to try and get the UDP comms to work. The PIC is programmed to send a heartbeat every few seconds and this seems to work. 

Issues: Nothing starts sending until WireShark begins capturing data. If I enter a message into Hercules to send to my PIC, this usually works but only about two times and then the PIC stops sending its pre-programmed heartbeat message altogether. I am also trying to write a loop so that I can ensure what I send to the PIC can be read and sent back to the server just to verify that what the PC sends to the PIC (via Hercules) can actually be read and sent back. Maybe this is redundant when I can just check on Wireshark but I was thinking Wireshark was only showing me what is being sent from one destination to another, not if it actually is being accepted by the destination. 

FYIs: For Hercules I am using the UDP tab. I have a specific IP address set up for the PIC and another IP address for the PC. Also, I was very confused about this for a while but I think I have it setup right now: What's the difference between UdpOpen() and UdpOpenEx() ? I ended up using UdpOpenEx(). Let me know if I need to include more details to get my questions answered. 

Really appreciate any input!

9 Replies Related Threads

gainesy
    Re: WireShark, UDP, and Hercules weirdness... 2018/11/27 17:22:56 (permalink)