Hot!What should I refer to become a firmware designer

Author
sajsaj220
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Reward points : 0
2018/11/06 02:09:31 (permalink)

What should I refer to become a firmware designer

Hi all,
I am a beginner in electronics as well as firmware design. I am from electrical engineer field but I have some little knowledge in C language and I was cracking ideas and operation over some topics from from google search since couple of months.
I want to be a firmware designer and developer. Can I expect my desire ? And if so, what books should I refer to become a designer?
Any idea please?

5 Replies Related Threads

__angelo__
    Starting Member
    • Total Posts : 71
    Re: What should I refer to become a firmware designer 2018/11/06 02:32:38 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    Just start to be it. There are books and  now-a-day there is the net, with a lot of info. Select an 8bit PIC to start, design a small board that do something useful for your house, assemble it (to understand electronic concerns also). Prepare the firmware (i suggest to use C and x8/mpasmx compiler) and program it on the board. Debug it until all works as expected. Then restart the cycle with a more complex design.
    PStechPaul
    • Total Posts : 2299
    Re: What should I refer to become a firmware designer 2018/11/06 14:14:14 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    Also perhaps go through some of the tutorials, such as those from Gooligum. There are good development platforms such as the Microchip Curiosity boards, but you can also do a lot just using the simulator in MPLABX. It helps to have a specific project in mind, that will do something you would like to have, such as a programmable thermostat or temperature controller. Such a project could use techniques for ADC, switches, PWM, LED display multiplexing, I2C, SPI, serial port, Bluetooth, USB, and IR control. Start simple and add functionality and features as you wish.