Helpful ReplyVersion Control for MPLAB C Code

Author
JTP5568
Starting Member
  • Total Posts : 37
  • Reward points : 0
2018/08/10 06:37:43 (permalink)

Version Control for MPLAB C Code

Hi All.  I am relatively new to the PIC embedded development with PIC microcontrollers and was wondering what everyone uses as version control for commercial development.  I have some new designs I am looking to "release" and need a way to properly maintain and archive my C code.  Thanks all in advance.
Jim Nickerson
User 452
  • Total Posts : 6184
Re: Version Control for MPLAB C Code 2018/08/10 06:44:59 (permalink)
+2 (2)
I use GIT
KTrenholm
  • Total Posts : 710
Re: Version Control for MPLAB C Code 2018/08/10 06:49:27 (permalink)
+1 (1)
I use Mercurial with TortoiseHG Workbench.  I like it well enough, although I don't think I really use it to its full potential.  Mostly just committing and updating a single branch for most firmware I write.  I definitely like it more than SVN, which I think is rather dated now if I'm not mistaken.  I'm pretty sure MPLABX has a plugin for integration with Mercurial (and some others), but I've never used it.
malaugh
  • Total Posts : 400
Re: Version Control for MPLAB C Code 2018/08/10 08:24:10 (permalink)
+2 (2)
The revision control systems most people use are Subversion and GIT.  GIT is gradually taking over from subversion, but personally I use Subversion.

The biggest difference between the two is GIT uses two repositories, a local repository and a remote repository.  The way this is works is changes are first committed to the local repository, then these changes are committed to the main repository in a second process.  Subversion uses a single repository.