Hot!USB Host Bootloader without using VBUS

Author
LysandreL
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
2018/07/23 01:10:17 (permalink)

USB Host Bootloader without using VBUS

Hello everyone !

I come here because I have to realize a bootloader on a specific board that uses a PIC32MZ2048EFH144.
I'm quite new to the microchip world (I previously worked with motorola micropro and I work with microchip micropro for 2 months now) so I'm sorry if I misunderstood something.

I first realised a bootloader using Harmony (I work on MPLAB X 4.15 and Harmony 2.05) on the starter kit using a PIC32MZ and I made the modifications I wanted to make it works as I wanted. But basically the bootloader is the bootloader made by harmony. It worked well.

Now I have to modify this bootloader to make it work on a board designed by my collegues. This board uses a PIC32MZ2048EFH144. The main problem I face is that the 5V alimentation of the USB port is externally powered and is not using the VBUS of the pic32.
For me the problem comes from here because the bootloader keeps on waiting the key even when I plug it in.

I have a good 5V to power the USB port and I also see 3.3V out of VBUS.
I tried different things to make an enumeration happen like disable and enable VBUS state with:

BSP_USBVBUSSwitchStateSet(BSP_USB_VBUS_SWITCH_STATE_DISABLE);
BSP_USBVBUSSwitchStateSet(BSP_USB_VBUS_SWITCH_STATE_ENABLE);

I also tried:

BSP_USBVBUSPowerEnable(0, false);
BSP_USBVBUSPowerEnable(0, true);

But none is working.

So I came here, not to make you work for me but, I searched for days now and I begin to have no idea.

Did I miss something for the USB protocol ? Is enumeration made on VBUS detection or on D+/D- ? Should I ask to create a new board to put the power of USB port on VBUS ?

I'll keep on searching and I thank you in advance.

Lysandre

4 Replies Related Threads

NKurzman
    A Guy on the Net
    • Total Posts : 18266