AnsweredHot!Problems with CDC data.

Author
vini_i
  • Total Posts : 398
  • Reward points : 0
2018/07/10 11:27:14 (permalink)

Problems with CDC data.

I'm using a PIC32MZ2048EFH064 on a custom board. 

I'm very new to harmony. This is actually my first true project with it. I've been really struggling with the documentation. There seem to be lots of little pieces but there is no larger view. I'm trying to set up the chip to send data up to a computer. I've got the oscillator configured and verified, it is set up for USB operation. I got the USB service set up as a CDC device. I get no enumeration. After digging at the documentation for a while I find that I need a USB event handler. After crunching together some example code I got the device to enumerate. Then I found that for CDC operation I needed a CDC event handler. This was harder to put together from example code. After I got it compiling I ran the following code as an example. It gets transmitted every one second. 

// This example assumes that the maxPacketSize is 6.
USB_DEVICE_CDC_TRANSFER_HANDLE transferHandle;
USB_DEVICE_CDC_INDEX instance;
USB_DEVICE_CDC_RESULT writeRequestResult;
uint8_t data[] = {'A','B','C','D','E','F'};
// In this example we want to send 6 bytes only.
writeRequestResult = USB_DEVICE_CDC_Write(instance,&transferHandle, data, 6,
 USB_DEVICE_CDC_TRANSFER_FLAGS_DATA_COMPLETE);
if(USB_DEVICE_CDC_RESULT_OK != writeRequestResult)
{
 //Do Error handling here
}

The terminal on the computer would receive 6 bytes of data once a second as expected but the data was not what was sent and would change every time the device was unplugged and plugged back in. I'm more than willing to admit that I screwed something up.