Author
bott
  • Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 0
2018/05/22 01:09:55 (permalink)
5 (1)

Moving from Arduino to PIC

Hi all,
for the past 2 years one of the electrical engineers I work with has been designing control box around the ATMEGA2560. I cant really give away the full specification on here and hold on to my job but it does A LOT, loads of outputs, loads of inputs and about 8 different communication methods, datalogging to usb flashdrive, remote IoT monitoring, software fusing... its beautiful. we are working on a visual studio App for programming configuration files, looking in to mobile App development, had PCBs designed...any way he`s now leaving this business and this is getting dropped on to me as I have some experience with programming Arduinos for my own projects. The decision has been made to move to the PIC32MK1024GPD100, so i'm pretty much starting from scratch and seem to have found myself at the deep end. I can look at the code for the Arduino and it makes sense how everything is working, but poking around MPLAB, im as confused as a cow on Astroturf. I pretty sure that I have this wrong but I have found that in the Arduino IDE I can compile my Arduino code for Chipkit, and that in the MPLAB software i can import my Chipkit code. So i'm hoping that someone out there will simply say "yes its that simple, write in whatever language you like and the magic button will translate it to PIC, just figure out how to use that and you will be fine" however I suspect your going to say that I need to spend the next 6 years going over the code learning a new language watching my hair fall out. If so, then any pointers to help the transition from Arduino to PIC will be much appreciated.

Thanks 

katela
  • Total Posts : 1419
Re: Moving from Arduino to PIC 2018/05/23 10:02:53 (permalink)
+2 (2)
Buy a good book and a PIC32 development board, few tutorials online and try to understand the datasheet.