Page: 12345.. > >> Showing page 1 of 14
Author
SGK
  • Total Posts : 158
  • Reward points : 0
2018/05/18 07:06:30 (permalink)

Newbie: controlling duty cycle of PWM set up with MCC

Hi

First of all, sorry for the basic question but I am a newbie taking first steps in PIC programming and C coding.  My project is to use a PIC16F1829 to control an external timer that has two relays (yes I know the PIC could, eventually, replace this timer), monitor an IR switch to determine if things are ready for operation, and monitor 4 NTCs for temperature and control 2 fans with 25kHz PWM (2 NTC per fan). The external timer's relays control power to an inductor board and a linear pull solenoid on a trap door while allowing easy time setting by a user. The IR switch looks to see if there is a case in the inductor coil ready for heating thereby automating start. PIC monitoring of the NTCs will be used to control fan PWM as things heat up out back and also halt operation if things get too hot (except the item in the inductor coil of course). 

I have used MCC to setup the PIC. Luckily for me this is available as I still don't understand all of the settings and register stuff.  So far I have coded the operation of the external timer, monitoring of the IR switch and checking the NTC temperatures. Now I am looking at the PWM side of things.

Clock is set to INTOSC 8MHz. (PLL is enabled - not sure if this is needed.) Both CCP3 and CCP4 use Timer2. I have this postscaler set to 1:1 and prescaler 1:16, time period 40uS. Each CCP is in PWM mode, 50% duty cycle. PWM resolution is given as 4 bits. 50% duty cycle has a CCPR value of 9 and that CCPR values can range from 0-19 (0% to 100% duty cycle).

MCC has coded the following function (?) which resides in pwm3.c (and its sibling in pwm4.c):

void PWM4_LoadDutyValue(uint16_t dutyValue)
{
// Writing to 8 MSBs of pwm duty cycle in CCPRL register
CCPR4L = ((dutyValue & 0x03FC)>>2);

// Writing to 2 LSBs of pwm duty cycle in CCPCON register