2015/02/19 21:58:02
NIMIT VACHHANI
Greetings People,

I am new to PIC family. Previously i was working on 89S8253 processors. I have a new requirement where i need to interface PIC24FJ64GB002/4 to my 89S8253 where my controller(89S8253) will send data to PIC controller on Uart Port. Once PIC receives the data i need to store that data on USB Flash drive. I have come to know that PIC controller can work as usb host and it can also received data on its UART port. My question can i program PIC controller to accept data on UART port and then save that data on USB Flash Drive ? I don't know much about oscillator configuration for PIC controller. Any documents or links might be helpful for me.

Please give some advice.
2015/02/20 09:35:45
jack@kksound
The PIC 24F processors are fairly complex and can be confusing at first. I suggest the PIC24F Family Reference Manual (microchip website under "other resources", it has many different sections for each part of the pic). Also the data sheet for the specific processor is a good source. USB operation in the PIC is not a simple task however there is a great deal of code and literature on this forum and also the microchip website on this topic.
Receiving data on the USART and writing to a Flash Drive are certainly in the capability of the processors but will not be a trivial development project, at least n my opinion, especially as a first introduction to these parts.
2015/02/20 10:24:41
davekw7x
NIMIT VACHHANI
...Any documents or links...

The Microchip Libraries for Applications has a demonstration project for a USB - Host - MSD Data Logger.  This uses the USB host stack and the FILEIO stack to talk to a USB Mass Storage Device.  That project just uses a PIC internal timer to cause it to write data to the device periodically.

There are MPLABX project configurations for various devices, including the PIC24FJ64GB004 PIM, which might show you what is involved.