• Getting Started
  • Hello! I'm an absolute beginner looking for some beginner-friendly guides
2020/09/10 09:05:21
Soop
Hopefully this is the correct forum to post in, there are certainly a LOT of different subjects this forum covers.  I am an absolute beginner and my eventual goal is to try and reverse engineer the MCU in the Sony PSP battery PCB with a view to making a viable and quality replacement.

Short term, my goal is to try and "swap" my TV remote control into another, better feeling remote.  Even this is turning out to be more difficult than anticipated.  I began with the incorrect assumption that the chip on the IR remote would be a ROM, but it's actually a microcontroller (I purchased a ROM flasher before finding that this was the wrong tool).  Both of them have different microcontrollers, an AD009-04 and a HB8101Pk, both of which are one-time programmable.

My current strategy is this:
Read the output values for each button on both remotes
Read the programmable memory on the target MCU
Purchase another MCU and flash it with edited values

My current barriers are:
I don't have the slightest clue how to read/dump the contents of the MCU, or indeed if this is even possible.

Is there any guide someone can point me to (bearing in mind that I'm VERY green) that would give me insight into the readng/dumping/flashing of an MCU?

Thanks for reading, hopefully what I've said makes sense, but if I've assumed anything incorrectly, I will endeavor to clarify!
2020/09/11 14:32:57
katela
Are you sure that MCU is a microchip microcontroller? As a beginner, do you already have basic understanding how microcontrollers work and can do basic things with a microcontroller? Before stating this task?
2020/09/11 17:58:38
PStechPaul