How do you interpret PIC part numbers?

Author
memBrainStudios
  • Total Posts : 6
  • Reward points : 0
2011/11/28 23:30:36 (permalink)

How do you interpret PIC part numbers?

I'm relatively new to the PIC development scene, and I recently had to sacrifice my PIC16F690 to a customer's project. I figured "No problem! I'll just buy a new one!" Not so easy. I discovered that there are more than one type for each PIC out there, but I have no comprehension of what the different codes for each processor means. After having taken a crash course in PIC programming, I now need one for PIC selection and purchase. How can I tell one PIC from another just by their product codes? Below are the product codes for the PIC16F690 line for reference: PIC16F690-E/ML PIC16F690-E/P PIC16F690-E/SO PIC16F690-E/SS PIC16F690-I/ML PIC16F690-I/P PIC16F690-I/SO PIC16F690-I/SS PIC16F690T-E/ML PIC16F690T-E/SO PIC16F690T-E/SS PIC16F690T-I/ML PIC16F690T-I/SO PIC16F690T-I/SS So, how can I tell one chip from the other? What do these extra codes mean?

5 Replies Related Threads

MBedder
    Circuit breaker
    • Total Posts : 6428
    Re:How do you interpret PIC part numbers? 2011/11/28 23:41:01 (permalink)
    -1 (1)
    Datasheet tells you everything.
    1and0
    Access is Denied
    • Total Posts : 8330
    Re:How do you interpret PIC part numbers? 2011/11/29 00:43:14 (permalink)
    memBrainStudios
    What do these extra codes mean?

As suggested, look at the back of your PIC datasheet.  Those codes are temperature range/package type.
    Ian.M
    • Total Posts : 13114
    Re:How do you interpret PIC part numbers? 2011/11/29 04:22:55 (permalink)
    +4 (2)
    Parsing PIC part numbers by 'rule of thumb' isn't *THAT* difficult.

1. locate the first pattern <digit><letter>, The FAMILY code is everything up to and including the number. (note 1)

It also tells you something about the pin count or architecture.  Numbers of the form (where x is any digit):