Hot!Datasheet for PIC18F2553

Author
gurksallad
  • Total Posts : 8
  • Reward points : 0
2018/04/16 05:51:50 (permalink)

Datasheet for PIC18F2553

This is my first try at the 18F-family.

When I download the datasheet for 18F2553, I get a 46 page pdf-file describing only the pinout, electrical characteristics and the A/D-converter. What about all the other information, like PORTA, Timers, crystal selection, etc that's in every PIC16F-datasheet?

3 Replies Related Threads

mbrowning
    Just a Member
    • Total Posts : 930
    Re: Datasheet for PIC18F2553 2018/04/16 06:14:53 (permalink)
    +2 (2)
    Note on first page

Note:This document is supplemented by

the “PIC18F2455/2550/4455/4550 Data
    Sheet” (DS39632). See Section 1.0
    “Device Overview”.

which says it only documents that which is different.

And why start with such an old part?

Can't remember. I've slept since then - Mark
    gurksallad
    • Total Posts : 8
    Re: Datasheet for PIC18F2553 2018/04/16 06:53:29 (permalink)
    Thanks. Why isn't there a link to that document from the chip-page at https://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC18F2553 ?

And the reason I start with such an old chip is simply because it has the feature I want to play with (USB) and I got it for free along with the PIC18 tinkering board I bought off of Ebay. I also peeked MAPS and selected USB-devices that are 28-pin and 8-bit, and there I found that 18F2553 is one of only 17 devices listed.

Old or not, it's still in production so I really don't bother about it. It's just for a starter anyway, to get a grasp of the 18F-environment from a 16F-user's perspective.
    davekw7x
    Entropy++
    • Total Posts : 1405
    Re: Datasheet for PIC18F2553 2018/04/16 07:59:44 (permalink)
    So, it is a detective story.  (Note that, despite my cryptic screen name, I am actually the world's greatest detective, Hercule Poirot.)