AnsweredHot!PIC 12F629 malfunctioning on real device

Author
MaarioS
  • Total Posts : 12
  • Reward points : 0
2018/03/14 04:34:04 (permalink)

PIC 12F629 malfunctioning on real device

Hi there, first of all I want to state that I graduated IT and know programming overall, although this is my first and the only time now where I try to program a software for PIC 12F629 by myself. This chip plugs into a device (gaming cartridge in old console) that reads a signal and changes outputs whenever the input signal stays low for around 2 seconds. Unfortunately I find issues when I test it on real hardware and it looks like the chip randomly switches outputs from time to time even if the button wasn't pressed and probably some other glitches caused by this chip... More details below, first is the program:

#include <htc.h>
#ifndef _XTAL_FREQ
#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000
#endif
__CONFIG(FOSC_INTRCCLK & WDTE_OFF & MCLRE_OFF);

#define th 50000 //experimental value defines how many time needed to activate pattern change
char eepromvar;
unsigned short counter;
#define PATTERN_MAX 3
const char effect[PATTERN_MAX+1] = {0x00,0x04,0x02,0x06};
void main(void){
    GPIO=0;
    CMCON = 0x07; // turn off comparators
    TRISIO=0b00001000;
    //char effect[] = {0x00,0x04,0x02,0x06};
    counter = 0;
    eepromvar=EEPROM_READ(0x00);
    if(eepromvar > PATTERN_MAX){
        eepromvar = 0;
        EEPROM_WRITE(0x00,eepromvar);
    }
    GPIO = effect[eepromvar];
    while(1){
        if(GP3 == 0){
            if(counter <= th){
                if(counter == th){

eepromvar++;
                    if(eepromvar > PATTERN_MAX){
                        eepromvar = 0;
                    }
     EEPROM_WRITE(0x00,eepromvar);
     GPIO = effect[eepromvar];
                }
                counter++;
            }
        }
        else{
            counter = 0;
        }
    }
}